London in 500 Words or Less

That should probably be “500 words or fewer,” but who’s going to report me to the grammar police?

All of my London summaries are nearly identical, but I can’t help it:

1. Get off the bus.

2. Get overwhelmed.

3. Get on the bus.

4. Get into pajamas and admit it, you’re a country mouse.

Walking around Oxford Circus (London) reminded me of being in Manhattan, fighting my way upstream like a salmon in a sea of people. I didn’t stop for pictures, but I did stop for some Urban Decay eyeliner in House of Fraser. And a new bike lock in Sports Direct.

Image

We made our way to Borough Market, which was nice but overhyped (/-priced). A makeshift lunch of local/organic/all that semi-elitist foodie goodness plus a nice olive pepperoni baguette hit the spot, and I bought some tomato-chili jam to enjoy back home, plus some Jerusalem artichokes that are very funny-looking but promise to be tasty. And persimmons/Sharon fruit, my latest obsession. I ate the four-pack one by one, on top of the windy London Bridge with juice dripping down my jacket and later, perched on a table in Pret as we drank some caffeinated beverages.

Image

 

Riding the tube brought back memories of my 2007 (that long ago?) semester in London. I keep saying I’m going to stop by Kilburn Park, but haven’t, and didn’t this time, either. 

We then tried, unsuccessfully, to find a decent Mexican restaurant. There appear to be only Chipotles and Chipotle-wannabes in London, and although half the reason we went to the city that day was specifically for Chipotle burritos…well, we weren’t feeling it after all. Luckily we found a charming “Beirut street food” place tucked away in a Soho side street, and we were early enough to snag a table. I had to get the chicken livers (named one of the top 100 dishes in some sort of Time Out feature) and they lived up to their hype. Seriously, I say “chicken livers” and can see you click the little “x” on this site, but something about it just worked (I think the frying, plus the pomegranate molasses). Then we shared this for dessert # 1 (dessert #2? Cadbury mini-eggs and creme eggs. Because I needed a full-on sugar coma).

Image

 

It was a nice day out, but nothing beats coming home to tea and House of Cards, and that pretty much sums up how the rest of the weekend went. 

One thought on “London in 500 Words or Less”

  1. Ahh what exactly was on that plate??????
    I think I would probably die of starvation. I’m really open to new things but from what I’ve seen from your photos we diffenately have different palate’s.
    Lol from the angle of your photo of you an heir Doctor the London Bridge looks like it may be falling down.
    You both look well but a little cold????? Still warmer over there than here.
    I’ll stay tuned for further adventures of John an Clea.
    Love,
    Aunt Nancy

Leave a Reply

